• +91-98503 98530
  • contactus@publishingnext.in
  • Goa, India

Award Winners and Shortlist- 2014

The first Publishing Next Industry Awards were presented on the 20th Sept. 2014, the concluding day of the Publishing Next Conference. These awards were presented in 5 categories. A total of 75 entries were received for the Awards.

The jury for the Awards consisted of the following:

  • Bipin Shah, Publisher, Mapin Publishing
  • Naresh Fernandes, Author and Editor at Scroll.in
  • Prashasti Rastogi, Director, German Book Office, New Delhi
  • R. Sriram, Co-founder, Next Practice Retail
  • Rakesh Khanna, Co-founder, Blaft Publications
  • Ramu Ramanathan, Editor, PrintWeek India

Each category was judged by at least three judges. The shortlist and the winner were arrived at based on the average score assigned to each entry.

The shortlist and winners in each category are as follows:

For its design and production values, attention to detail, and for enhancing the book through an impressive choice of medium and packaging, the award for Printed Book of the Year is presented to Tulika Books (New Delhi) for its title “Project Cinema City”


Printed Book of the Year
Conversations in the Nude
India Psychedelic – The Rocking 60s and 70s : The Story of Rocking Generation
Project Cinema City
(Tulika Books, New Delhi)
The Sood Family Cookbook : 101 Recipes for Every Home
This Side That Side: Restorying Partition
(Yoda Press)
Winner: Project Cinema City
(Tulika Books, New Delhi)



​For effectively combining the elements that make an e-book attractive ​and appealing to the target age group, the award for Digital Book of the Year is presented to Pratham Books for the title “Too Much Noise”


Digital Book of the Year
Hach Maza Marg
(Mehta Publishing House)
Seven Shades of Grey
(Vivek Mehra)
Too Much Noise
(Pratham Books)
The Arithmetic of Breasts and Other Stories
(Rochelle Potkar)
What Did You See?
(Bookbox India Pvt. Ltd.)
Winner: Too Much Noise
(Pratham Books)



For creating an inviting space to browse books from a varied collection, including antiquarian and second-hand books, and for their contribution to building a book-reading community, the award for Bookstore of the Year is presented to Literati


Bookstore of the Year
Crossword Bookstores Ltd.
(Kemps Corner, Mumbai)
Lightroom Bookstore
(Calangute, Goa)
Rachna Books
Winner: Literati
(Calangute, Goa)



For identifying a segment of Indian readers that was under served in their need for quality books in their primary languages – the Saura, Munda, Kui and Juanga languages – and meeting this need, the award for Publishing Innovation of the Year is presented to Pratham Books


Publishing Innovation of the Year
BookBox India Pvt. Ltd.
Pearson Education
Pratham Books
SansRack Publishing Solutions Pvt. Ltd.
Winner: Pratham Books



For their dedication ​​to promoting attractive, engaging and high-quality books in various languages around the country, and for managing to widen their distribution in a difficult climate, the award for Publisher of the Year is presented to Tulika Publishers (Chennai)


Publisher of the Year
DC Books
HarperCollins Publishers India Limited
Tulika Publishers, Chennai
Yoda Press
Zubaan Publishers Pvt. Ltd.
Winner: Tulika Publishers, Chennai